CCWA History

Despite many denominational divisions over the centuries, there has always been a core group of Christian people who were dreaming of, praying for and working towards a greater sense of unity and co-operation among Churches.

The Council of Churches’ history began in the late 1950s, when its name was the “WA Committee for the Australian Committee of the World Council of Churches”!  Over the years the most common name was the “Western Australian Council of Churches”.

When the Roman Catholic Church joined the name was changed to the “Conference of Churches of WA”.  In 2003 the name of the organisation was changed to “The Council of Churches of Western Australia (Inc)”.

The Council became an incorporated association in 1977.  The first General       Secretary was appointed in 1963.  The Council has been involved with ecumenical advocacy and social justice works, for around half a century.

We offer an open invitation to other churches to consider our invitation to join with us in this ecumenical work.

A brief history of the Council of Churches Office Bearers:

Ecumenical Officer*

2017-              Ms Simone Micke, Lutheran Church of Australia
2013-2017     Rev Frances Hadfield,  Uniting Church    
2011-2012     Rev Isobelle Shortreed, Uniting Church    

Executive Officer*  

2010-              Mr Alan Jennings, Roman Catholic

(*Two new positions created replacing the General Secretary Position)

General Secretaries:

2009-2010      Rev Chris Bedding Locum General Secretary, Anglican
1998-2009      Rev Eira Clapton, Anglican
1992-1998       Rev Wes Hartley, UCA
1987-1991        Dr John Neal, Anglican (Full time from 1/1/88- 1/12/91)
1984-1987       Part time General Secretaries, one of whom was  George Idle, UCA for a                                   period of 6 months in l986.
1977-1983       Rev Roy Poole, Anglican
1972-1977       Rev Keith Dowding, Presbyterian/UCA
1969-1972       Mr Ian Allsop, Church of Christ
1963-1969       Rev Laurie G Staton, UCA


May 2018 –                                              Sr Margaret Scharf OP, Roman Catholic

March 2015 – May 2018                       Deacon Theodore  Issa, Syrian Orthodox

March 2011- December 2014              Rt Rev Bishop Brian Kyme, Anglican

October 2010-March 2011                   Paul Martin, Society of Friends (Interim)

March 2010-October 2010                  Rev Dr Charles Waddell, Roman Catholic

March 2009-March 2010                    Paul Martin, Society of Friends

March 2007-March 2009                    Rev Marie Wilson, UCA

March 2005-March 2007                    Ven David Ingleson, Anglican

March 2003-March 2005                    Ms Ivonna Dansbergs, Lutheran

May 2001-March 2003                        Mr Graham Nielsen, UCA

May 1999-April 2001                           Ms Anne Fox, Roman Catholic

May 1998-April 1999                           Rev Greg Harvey, Anglican

March 1996-April 1998                       Deacon Theodore Issa, Syrian Orthodox

January 1994-February 1996             Ms Wendie Wilkie, UCA

December 1992-December 1993       Sr Sonia Wagner, Roman Catholic

December 1991-November 1993       Sr Libby Rogerson, Roman Catholic

May 1990-November 1991                 Lt Col K B Morgan, Salvation Army

June 1986-February 1990                  Rt Rev Brian Kyme, Anglican

April 1984-April/May 1986                Mrs Leonie Liveris, Greek Orthodox

December 1982-March 1984              Rev G Blyth, UCA

December 1981-November 1982       Archdeacon Dutton, Anglican

December 1980-November 1981       Rev V Cornish, Anglican

June 1979-November 1980                Major F Linsell, Salvation Army

April 1978-June 1979                          Laurie Wilkinson, Society of Friends

March 1976-February 1978                Rev Jack Wilson, Methodist/UCA